About Us

History Of The Club By Deva Amunugama

The original idea to form a club was that of the late Mr.A.G.G.Perera a loyal old boy, educationist and sportsman, who on 6th May 1978 requested the then Principal to look into the possibilities of forming a club for old boys. His intentions were mainly to give an opportunity to the present boys to take part in sports at a higher level and gain experience and help those who do not have a chance to represent at club level.
The initial response from old boys was poor as many were under the impression that this might bring in a rift with the central OBA. However after much discussions at various levels Mr.Harindra Dunuwille tabled a letter from Mr.A.G.G.Perera at a committee meeting of the OBA on 3rd Sept 1979 requesting the formation of a club. It was decided to place this proposal at the AGM on 19th July 1980.

This proposal was unanimously accepted by the house to the delight of some of us who did the initial planning holding meetings in a dimly -lit room at King’s Hotel Kandy under closed doors, way back in 1979, since some had mixed feelings on this idea and on one occasion I nearly got assaulted by an old boy merely talking to him on this new venture! It is worth mentioning the names of the late Keerthi Ratnayake, Nugent Kapuwatte, Duleep Ranasinghe, Sidhantha Blok, Leonard de Alwis and Jayantha Ranhotty who did yeomen service during this period. The OTSC was formally inaugurated with Mr.A.G.G.Perera elected as the first President and Mr.Leonard Alwis as the first secretary on 19th July 1980 with 53 members elected as founder members..